geniegugl.blogg.se

Rate my albums
Rate my albums








rate my albums

Acid folk of Balaklava by Pearls Before Swine and both albums by Forest (Forest & Full Circle. Good list but I would like to add some obscure masterpieces. He composes nearly all the songs, for all the instruments, and records, produces, and mixes them, Nearly all by himself! Seeing him receive the appreciation, credit and love that he deserves makes me very happy.Īgain, thank you to everyone that contributed! So glad to have this resource, truly. Whether or not you want to classify it as Psych Rock is a different story), especially considering the resources he had available for those two albums, and I’m really happy to see that even generations before me are able to appreciate what he does. Also wanted to say that I’m so glad that Kevin Parker and his Tame Impala project are on the list! InnerSpeaker and Lonerism are incredible works of psychedelic music (and Currents I think is incredible and unique Kevin is more than willing to explore and experiment with his style, like truly great artists often do. But for that, I’m thankful for all the people that commented and for their suggestions. Of course it is a difficult job to just put 25, especially 25 albums that everyone would agree on. I appreciate this list a lot, as I’ve wanted to explore the roots of the psychedelic rock that I’ve come to hear today. Led Zeppelin was late to the game in 1969 but had an outsized influence. In ’66 “Sunshine Superman” was full on Celtic psychedelic followed a year later by “Mellow Yellow”. How could they forget him? His First album in ’65 “Catch the Wind” was a British echo of Dylan, quickly followed by “Fairytale” his own direction into the Celtic fantasies. The first Love album preceeded Revolver by months and had wonderful songs from Arthur Lee “No Matter what you do”, “Singed D.C.” & “My little red Book”.Īnd I almost forgot one of the most important psychedelic pioneers: Donovan. Oh, and the West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band.Īnd where is the Velvet Underground? Really.Īlso, they start with the Forever Changes Love album which was my favorite but it was their third album. They didn’t get widespread distribution but they were soooo stoned. the first two albums everyone had.Īnd Moody Blues was very big and very psychedelic.Īnd there was probably never a more Psychedelic band than the Fugs. They left out Big Brother and the Holding Company. Traffic’s first album was the revolutionary one: Mr. They weren’t the leaders, they were just in the groove like everyone else. Peppers which to me was the first Beatles Psychedelic album. From the less obvious parts of the world, I’d suggest Brazil’s Os Mutantes (1968 self-titled) and Paêbirú (1975, by Zé Ramalho & Lula Côrtes), Argentina’s Almendra (1969 self-titled), Germany’s Neu! (1972 self-titled), Turkey’s Elektronik Türküler (1974, by Erkin Koray) and, also counting for more recent stuff, Sweden’s Commune (2014, by Goat), since Tame Impale wasn’t that good at their prime and had long passed it by the time they made Currents, let’s face it. I’d add Moby Grape, Cheap Thrills and Ogden’s Nut Gone Flake just as easily, though. And, of course, Electric Music for the Mind and Body, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, Vincebus Eruptum, In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida, Forever Changes and Surrealistic Pillow are all rightful psych classics. Nice to remember the first Soft Machine and Traffic albums too, since they tend to be best remembered by their later stuff on other genres. Also, Happy Trails, Live/Dead and Easter Everywhere are trippier than QSM, Anthem of the Sun and (believe it or not) Psychedelic Sounds. The Stones were, that one time, but I’m not sure if they stand side by side with all those naturals.

rate my albums

That said, neither Hendrix nor Cream nor the Doors nor Aphrodite’s Child were ever thaaat psychedelic. The Byrds aren’t, so historical importance is clearly not the point for the list. But then I’m not sure if the Beatles should be there at all. Not sure about Revolver… if you want a Beatles one, I’d have to agree with this other commenting person that Magic Mystery Tour is their most psychedelic, even if it’s not as innovative. I agree Caravan is missing too, but I’d pick their self-titled debut, since they only got more progressive/pop on further albums. As a lot of people have mentioned, Odessey & Oracle is probably the most striking absence.










Rate my albums